NREC-CT A Members


Prof. Alistair Nichol

Consultant Anaesthetist & Intensivist, St. Vincent’s Hospital, Dublin
Heike Felzmann

Dr Heike Felzmann

Deputy Chairperson
Lecturer, Philosophy & Ethics, National University of Ireland Galway, Galway
FREE IMAGE-NO REPRO FEE. ‘Creating Accessible Access to Justice: Recognising People with Disabilities as Victims of Crime’ is a conference being hosted by the School of Applied Social Studies, Institute for Social Sciences in the 21st Century and Centre for Criminal Justice in Human Rights, supported by the Irish Research Council for the Humanities and Social Sciences. The conference, taking place on the 3-4th May, emerges out of a piece of work undertaken by Dr. Claire Edwards, Dr. Shane Kilcommins and Gillian Harold for the National Disability Authority which explored the barriers that people with disabilities face in accessing the criminal justice system in Ireland and internationally when they are victims of crime, and sought to compare policies and practices across international jurisdictions to bring points of learning to the Irish context. Speakers at the conference come from Ireland, Scotland and England, and are all engaged in working within people with disabilities and/or victims of crime, either on the frontline providing support to people with disabilities, or in developing and influencing law and policy around disabled people’s access to the criminal justice system. They include Raymond Byrne (Head of Research, Law Reform Commission); Elaine Mears (Rape Crisis Network Ireland); Deirdre Carroll (Inclusion Ireland); Pauline Conroy (independent researcher); Miriam Delahunt (Barrister); Geraldine Monaghan and Mark Pathak (Liverpool City Council, UK); Dr. Claire Edwards (School of Applied Social Studies, UCC) and Elspeth Molony (Capability Scotland). Participants at the conference include members of victim support organisations, barristers and the judiciary, disability organisations, representatives from agencies such as the HSE, HIQA and other social care organisations, academic staff and postgraduate students with an interest in the area. Photographed are was Dr. Mary Donnelly, Faculty of Law, UCC. 
Photo by Tomas Tyner, UCC.

Prof. Mary Donnelly

Deputy Chairperson
Professor, School of Law, University College Cork, Cork
Dr Brian Clarke

Mrs Erica Bennett

Senior Clinical Research Radiation Therapist, Bon Secours Radiotherapy, UPMC Hillman Cancer Centre, Cork
David Brayden

Prof. David Brayden

Professor, Advanced Drug Delivery, University College Dublin, Dublin
NO REPRO FEE. Darren Dahly, University College Cork. Photo by Tomas Tyner, UCC.

Dr Darren Dahly

Principal Statistician, Health Research Board Clinical Research Facility Cork

Mr Gerard Daly

Retired Civil Servant, Laois

Prof. Eugene Dempsey

Principal Investigator & Clinical Lead for Neonatal Research at the Infant Centre, University College Cork, and Consultant Neonatologist at Cork University Maternity Hospital

Prof. Austin Duffy

Consultant Medical Oncologist Mater Misericordiae University Hospital Dublin and Associate Professor of Translational Oncology Medicine and Medical Specialities, University College Dublin, Dublin

Mr Gerard Eastwood

Retired, Member of Fighting Blindness, Engineer and academic lecturer, Dublin
John Culliney

Dr Geraldine Foley

Assistant Professor, Occupational Therapy, School of Medicine, Trinity College Dublin, Dublin
Catherine Hayes

Prof. Catherine Hayes

Associate Professor, Public Health Medicine, Trinity College Dublin, Dublin

Prof. Tina Hickey

Associate Professor Emeritus, School of Psychology, University College Dublin and Patient Advocate.
Dervla Kelly

Dr Dervla Kelly

Community Pharmacist & Lecturer, Medical Education, University of Limerick, Limerick

Ms Muireann O'Briain

Retired Barrister, Dublin

Ms Evelyn O’Shea

Enterprise Risk Management Training and Development Manager, HSE
Ann Twomey

Ms Ann Twomey

Director, Alzheimer’s Society Ireland, Cork
John Wells

Prof. John Wells

Dean, School of Health Sciences, South East Technological University, Cork
Scroll to Top
Skip to content